What ICTs do I (we) use at home?

hmm let me see

  • Computer – desktop and laptop, iPad
  • smartphone (iPhone) with its 1000 apps on it
  • smart tv
  • internet/wifi/car Bluetooth
  • online purchases (shh dont tell hubby)
  • digital camera

I am sure this list goes on.  The world is becoming reliant on technology, we think if we don’t have our phones attached to us we may miss out on that instant text/ facebook msg, or that email that can actually wait until after you’ve watched your child play soccer.  How is the world going to continue without my instant reply……….ppt_a_shiney_emoticon_thinking_face_business_management_powerpoint_templates_1.jpg

It will don’t stress.  Stop and think for a moment, are we becoming so reliant on technology that we a losing that daily human interaction and the verbal and written communication skills that actually make people have a connection.  Don’t get me wrong I love using facetime as it means my toddler and I can see and hear his dad when he’s away for work. However, when he’s home I find myself glued to the phone.

If you went off the grid for a day (maybe a week) what do you think would change for you personally?and how would it affect others?  Is it time to turn technology off more often? Can’t wait to know what everyone thinks or if you have switched off.

Leave a comment